Secrets - Fragile Figures Deluxe Edition


Review by Dom Vigil

Having been a fan of Fragile Figures when it was released in July last year, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t excited to hear the new tracks on Secrets’ deluxe edition of an already great album. Thankfully, I wasn’t disappointed. One of the best things about this re-release is that you don’t have to go digging for the new songs – they put the three new tracks right at the forefront of the album, wrapping it up at the end with a remix of “Ready For Repair.”

The first of the new tracks is “Dance of The Dead” and this song’s strong start only manages to get me even more excited for the already promising re-issue. The one thing that really stands out about “Dance of The Dead” is its energy, making it a great new beginning for Fragile Figures and easily catching your attention. While the second new track “Heartbreak Kids” doesn’t have the same upbeat beginning as the first song, it isn’t boring by any means and still has that trademark energy that just about all of Secrets’ songs have. The third – and arguably the best – new track on the re-issue is “The Wild” and it catches your attention immediately with a hard-hitting metalcore beginning to it. The song in general is a lot harder than the other two new tracks and helps the listener transition easily into the rest of the record without a hitch.

The “Ready For Repair” remix by Captain Midnite is honestly the perfect ending for this re-issue. It’s slow and haunting, but still maintains the powerful and melodic vocals that makes Secrets Secrets and is overall just a really unique take on an already great song, and Kyle Lucas and Jonny Craig's added vocals are just the cherry on top. Sometimes, re-issues and deluxe editions of previously released albums can be a bit dicey – sometimes they’re great, sometimes they’re not – but Secrets’ deluxe edition of Fragile Figures is definitely worth the purchase with four great new tracks that will keep you coming back for more.

Rating: 4.5/5

Listen to "The Wild"

Until We Are Ghosts - Bitterseed

Dikembe / The Jazz June - Split