Alcoa's Thank You EP has its roots set in setbacks. Defeater frontman and Alcoa mastermind Derek Archambault was informed by medical professionals earlier this year that he was in desperate need of a hip replacement. It sadly put any touring plans Defeater had to a grinding halt as Archambault continued to deal with pain and immobility in his hip and left leg. He humbly turned to his bands' fans for help and managed a successful fundraising project on, offering a number of rewards in return. One of those rewards was a brand new, five-song acoustic covers EP from Alcoa appropriately titled Thank You, pressed on a limited number of CDs and available exclusively to his PledgeMusic donors.

The Thank You EP will be available from the label on 12" vinyl on December 2, 2014Thank You features covers of songs by some of the best in contemporary punk and hardcore (and coincidentally, friends of Archambault): I Am the Avalanche, Blacklisted, Make Do and Mend, and Elder Brother, and also includes a new version of Defeater fan favorite "I Don't Mind", originally off 2011's Empty Days & Sleepless Nights. Depending on the variant, the one-sided record will also feature a screen printed or etched B-side.  Pre-order the EP now on before it's officially available on December 2nd.

Archambault is still on the road to recovery from his recent surgery and is currently recording a new full-length album with Alcoa.  While in the studio last week, he sat down with Bridge Nine's own Ryan Boone, Tyler Bradley and Brian Shultz on this week's B9 Podcast which is now available for your listening pleasure via iTunes or from any of the links below.

Thank You EP track listing:

1. Shambles [originally by Make Do and Mend]

2. Young Kerouacs [originally by I Am the Avalanche]

3. Stations [originally by Blacklisted]

4. Who's Gonna Carry You Home? [originally by Elder Brother]

5. I Don't Mind [originally by Defeater]



Yahoo Music Streams JOHNNY WORE BLACK's "Walking Underwater Pt. 2" in Full

'68 release new video for 'Track 5'