So Much Light Signs with Anti- and Releases Free EP

Anti- is thrilled to announce the signing of soulful young singer-songwriter and guitar virtuoso, So Much Light (aka Damien Verrett). In celebration of the signing, the Northern California native is also releasing a powerful five-song EP entitled Idiot Soul. The EP features four original tracks and an acoustic retelling of Drake’s “Connect”.

Stream the Idiot Soul EP below:

Download The EP Here

Using a flood of inviting melody over lush instrumental backdrops, the intuitive and soulful crooner immediately engulfs and captivates the listener. His carefully-calibrated production yields an expressive combination of character and charisma that embodies So Much Light’s aesthetic credo as a whole.

Despite the seemingly serious melodic intent of Idiot Soul (a DIY production recorded mostly in Verrett’s bedroom), the tracks are punctuated by a self-deprecating sarcasm, clever word play and sardonic observations, presented like an elbow to the rib of millennial shortcomings. The quintessential example appears in the track "Soap Box," when Verrett comments on American mass marketing culture by asking ‘why become a god when you could be a brand?’ But Beyond Verrett’s tongue-in-cheek self-awareness lies an imaginative and innovative artist.

Each song on Idiot Soul is crafted using manipulated acoustic instruments. Marimbas, vibraphones and pianos, as well as vocal samples, lift the production beyond the tired synth patches commonly used in electronic pop. A virtuoso in his craft, Verrett has managed to lace bits of science into the soundboard. He explains, "Like the human eye searches for faces, I suspect that our ears search for familiar sounds. I try to use the human voice as an instrument as much as possible. I image that even after it is mangled and tweaked significantly, our brain is still drawn to it."  
By seamlessly combining soul with exceedingly intelligent and thoughtfully-arranged production, Verrett has expanded the boundaries of conventional genres. Part observational poet, emotive melodist, inventive sound designer and detail-oriented perfectionist, So Much Light is without a doubt the total package.  

Idiot Soul Track Listing
1. Idiot Soul
2. Soap Box
3. Little Lobby
4. Let It Absorb You
5. Connect (Drake cover)

One Days Notice Release New Single "All That I Know"

Aneurysm Premiere New Song "Veronica"; Announce New EP For Oct.