The Hollowpoints To Release " Rocket To Rainier" On Oct 2nd; Release New Song "Cotton Fever"

Seattle’s underground punk band The Hollowpoints will release their next studio album, Rocket To Rainier, on October 2nd via Sailor’s Grave Records. Today, the band has partnered with to premiere a brand new song titled “Cotton Fever.”

Stream “Cotton Fever” below:

Formed in 2001 by childhood friends Matty Mckinney, Benny Early, and Dan Colley, The Hollowpoints combine elements of punk and rock and roll reminiscent of apparent influences The Clash, Cock Sparrer, One Man Army and Swingin’ Utters.

They’ve pushed their hook-based singalongs both domestically and abroad through constant touring, racking up releases with the Annihilation EP on Dirtnap Records (2003) and The Black Spot on Duane Peters’ Disaster Records (2005). Finding guitarist Will McCarthy Broad in 2007, they followed with Old Haunts On The Horizon on current label Sailor’s Grave Records (2010).

Charging hard forward, Rocket To Rainier combines textbook Hollowpoints songwriting with the driving pace of “The Black Spot” and a more personal feel and subject matter, bringing you right back to the pop hooks of Old Haunts On The Horizon. With bassist Benny Early taking on some lead vocal duties, the classic call and response Hollowpoints sound has taken on a brand new depth and dimension.

Recorded by Ryan Maxwell in Seattle and produced by The Hollowpoints, this new offering was mixed and mastered by heavyweight engineer Jamie McMann (NOFX, Good Riddance, Home Street Home) . Rocket To Rainier is a somber manifesto—despite its catchy and upbeat sound, the record chronicles lives lost, lives nearly destroyed, and the long road back. It’s without a doubt the band’s most personal and earnest release, and a gut check to the human condition issued by a weary, yet eternally hopeful, band of brothers.

“This record is deeply personal, we have all gone through some really horrific and surprising realities in the last few years,” says Mckinney. “These songs are about these internal and external struggles. There is also a hopeful timbre above all the pain and strife... That is the message in the record, it's looking yourself in the mirror, realizing who your real friends are, and taking inventory on what you really care about.”


Rocket To Rainier Track List:

1. Reptilian Way
2. Rocket To Rainier
3. Cotton Fever
4. Cold Blade
5. Frostbite
6. 6 A.M.
7. Sharkwolf
8. You Ought To Know
9. Ever Have Your Asshole Licked By A Fat Guy I...
10. Gas Tank
11. Can't Feel At All
12. Dust Collects
13. Salt

The Hollowpoints Tour Dates:

Sep 25 - Portland, OR - L.O.G. Cabin
Nov 3 - Seattle, WA - The Funhouse
Nov 4 - Tacoma, WA - Jazzbones
Nov 13 - Victoria, BC - Wheelies Motorcycles & Cafe
Nov 14 - Vancouver, BC - Pat’s Pub
Dec 12 - Wenatchee, WA - Wally’s House of Booze

GRiZ Announces Second Annual GRiZmas

Edhochuli Stream "Useless Muse" via The AV Club