Conor Oberst Announces New Album 'Salutations'

Conor Oberst Announces New Album 'Salutations'

Conor Oberst will release his new album, Salutations, on Nonesuch Records, on March 17, 2017.

The album is a companion piece to 2016's lauded Ruminations. When Oberst wrote and recorded the songs on Ruminations, entirely solo - with just voice, piano, guitar and harmonica - he intended to ultimately record them with a full band. In the midst of putting together that band - upstate New York's The Felice Brothers plus the legendary drummer Jim Keltner (Neil Young, Jackson Browne, George Harrison, Bob Dylan, John Lennon, and many more) - the passionate responses Oberst was getting to those first solo recordings, from friends and colleagues, encouraged him to release the songs as-is, in their original sparse form, as his seventh solo album: Ruminations, which was released in October 2016.

Meanwhile, Oberst simultaneously moved ahead with his plans to record with the band, heading to the famed Shangri-la Studios in Malibu to record Salutations - co-produced with Keltner and engineered by long-time musical compadre Andy LeMaster. Guest contributions come courtesy of Jim James, Blake Mills, Maria Taylor, M Ward, Gillian Welch, Gus Seyffert, Pearl Charles, Nathaniel Walcott, and Jonathan Wilson.

Salutations includes full band versions of the ten songs from Ruminations, plus seven additional songs, some from an additional session at Five Star Studios in Echo Park in fall 2016 (complete track list below). Oberst, with The Felice Brothers as his backing band, will tour in celebration of Salutations beginning March 9 in his hometown of Omaha, with stops at LA's Greek Theater in May and Celebrate Brooklyn Festival in July (full schedule below). Oberst has partnered with Plus 1 so that $1 from every ticket sold will go to support Planned Parenthood and their work delivering vital reproductive health care, sex education, and information to millions of women, men, and young people in the US and worldwide.

Pre-orders of Salutations at iTunes and the Nonesuch store will come with immediate downloads of "A Little Uncanny," "Tachycardia," and "Napalm." For a limited time, pre-orders at also include an exclusive print autographed by Conor Oberst.

Conor Oberst Tour Dates:


27        Sydney, AUS @ Sydney Opera House



9          Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room Lounge

10        Kansas City, MO @ Madrid Theater

11        Memphis, TN @ Minglewood Hall

12        Tulsa, OK @ Cain's Ballroom

14        San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger

16        Spicewood, TX@ Luck Reunion

17        Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live

18        New Orleans, LA @ The Civic Theatre

19        Macon, GA @ Cox Capitol Theatre         

21        Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel

22        Chattanooga, TN @ Track 29

23        Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse

24        McMinnville, TN @ Bluegrass Underground

25        St Louis, MO @ The Pageant

26        Iowa City, IA @ The Englert Theater



12        Oakland, CA @ The Fox

13        Los Angeles, CA @ The Greek Theater

19        Austin, TX @ ACL Live at The Moody Theater



14-16   Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival

20        Brooklyn, NY @ Celebrate Brooklyn

21        Boston, MA @ The House of Blues


March dates go on sale starting January 21 at noon EST

May and July dates go on sale starting January 27 at noon EST

Watt Releases New Single, “Burning Man” feat. Post Malone

Watt Releases New Single, “Burning Man” feat. Post Malone

Listen to Figure Eight's New Single, "Clean"

Listen to Figure Eight's New Single, "Clean"